Recognizing BCIT’s 2012 stars

2012 employee excellence award winners

The 2012 BCIT Employee Excellence Award winners

Congratulations are due to the winners of this year’s Employee Excellence Program, announced Monday. Over 125 individuals, teams, and departments were nominated for an award. In the announcement, Tomi Eeckhout, vice president, Human Resources, acknowledged the contributions of all the nominees, and noted that the quality of submissions improves each year.

The 2012 awards are as follows:

Extra Mile Awards

The Extra Mile Awards are presented to four individuals and two departments from across the institute. Criteria include attitude, skill, productivity, judgement, innovation, communication skills, customer service, or simply the person or department who goes the extra mile on a regular basis.

Individual Extra Mile
Mark Gendron, Chemical and Environmental Technology
Franca MacInnes, School of Health Sciences
Lori Pederson, Library
Virginie Wong, Facilities and Campus Development

Department Extra Mile
AV Services, Learning and Teaching Centre: Dave Stuart, Paul Livingston, Hugh Robertson, Glen Barwise, Jay Juco, Kelly Smith, Mike Iske, Brian Moore, and Lane Humphries
Business Administration – International, School of Business: Svitlana Kominko and Ron Kessler

Team Effort Award

Team Effort Awards are presented as merited to groups, task teams, or committees that have made a significant contribution to BCIT’s business processes, student success or employee morale.

U-Pass Implementation Team: Daryl Young, Diana Kovacic, Stacy Robertson, Sonia Dhaliwal, Greg Parr, Glen Magel and Deborah Crawford

Leadership Award

The Leadership Award is given to a BCIT employee who demonstrates exceptional leadership qualities.

Neil Cox, Electrical and Computer Engineering, School of Energy
Mubasher Faruki, Motive Power, School of Transportation
Cheryl Cahill, Aviation Operations, School of Transportation
Tom Moore, BCIT Housing, Student Services (Leadership in a Sustainability Initiative)

Teaching Excellence Awards

A Teaching Excellence Award is given in each of BCIT’s schools. Nominations are welcomed from peers, students, managers, Advisory Committee members, industry partners, or anyone else who believes a BCIT instructor is doing an exceptional job.

Joseph Cheung, School of Energy
Reza Tafti, School of Construction and the Environment
Miriam Pender, School of Business
Matthew Haussmann, School of Business
Steve Mullis, School of Transportation
Yvonne Jeffreys, School of Health
Aman Abdulla and Jimmy Lowe (TIE), School of Computing and Academic Studies

Winners of an Employee Excellence Award are invited to celebrate their accomplishments at the annual recognition lunch, where they are presented with their gift and Award Certificate. The Employee Excellence Award luncheon was held this year on May 9 from 12:00 p.m. to 2:00 p.m. in Town Square A and B. View photos of the event.

The Employee Excellence Program is now accepting nominations for next year, so if you see exceptional people at work, take a few minutes to nominate them for an award!

This entry was posted in Campus & Community and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.